2024 Under-19 Cricket World Cup: Exciting Competition with Promising Young Talent

The 2024 Under-19 Cricket World Cup marks the fifteenth edition of the esteemed international limited-overs tournament. Originally slated for Sri Lanka, the event has been relocated to South Africa due to the suspension of the Sri Lanka Cricket Board by the International Cricket Council (ICC). Commencing on January 19th and concluding on February 11th, the tournament witnesses sixteen teams engaged in 41 exhilarating matches. India defends its championship, while Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, England, and Pakistan are among the automatic qualifiers. The qualification process embraced regional pathways, ensuring a diverse mix of teams in the competition.

1. Qualification:

  • Automatic qualification for eleven teams based on their previous event standings.
  • Regional qualification pathways determining five positions.
  • Nepal, New Zealand, Scotland, Namibia, and the USA securing berths through regional qualifiers.

2. Umpires:

  • Appointment of match officials for the tournament, including sixteen umpires and match referees.
  • Ensuring fair play and adherence to rules and regulations.

3. Squads:

  • Selection of fifteen players for each team, excluding reserves.
  • England takes the lead in announcing their squad.
  • Controversy surrounds the removal of David Teeger from the South Africa U19 captaincy due to safety concerns.

4. Format:

  • Four groups (A, B, C, D) with the top three teams advancing to the Super Six stage.
  • Placement matches for the fourth-placed teams in Group A, D, B, and C.
  • Super Six stage combining top teams from Groups A, D, B, and C.
  • Semi-finals featuring the top two teams from each Super Six group.

5. Warm-up Matches:

  • Preparation matches held before the start of the tournament.
  • Teams testing their skills and strategies ahead of the main event.


    1. Which teams secured automatic qualification for the 2024 Under-19 Cricket World Cup?

      • Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, Ireland, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka, West Indies, and Zimbabwe.
  • How did teams qualify through regional pathways?

      • Regional qualification involved a two-step process: Division 2 Qualifiers in 2022 and subsequent Regional Qualifiers in 2023.
      • Nepal, New Zealand, Scotland, Namibia, and the USA emerged as winners in their respective regions.
  • Who are the match officials for the tournament?

      • The ICC appointed sixteen umpires and named Graeme Labrooy, Narayanan Kutty, Shaid Wadvalla, and Wayne Noon as the match referees.
  • Why was David Teeger removed from the South Africa U19 captaincy?

    • Due to safety concerns related to anticipated protests at the tournament venues, Cricket South Africa decided to relieve Teeger of captaincy duties.

Leave a Comment